W2rh0und

Conversations and commands - a split experience

Sun May 04, 2014 8:28 am

Hi,

I am brand new to this and have only just installed Syn 2 days ago.At first I thought it wasn't working because I could type text random questions into the chatbox and get responses from Madonna but not when I verbally spoke. It wasn't after I tried formal commands that I realised that formal verbal commands are recognised but general conversational is not verbally recognised.

Am I correct in this assumption? That general conversation only works via typing in the text box and only formal verbal commands are listened to and executed? It would be nice if there was a way in which syn could differenciate between formal commands and general conversation as opposed to having to type general conversation separately, therefore splitting the experience in two.

If this is the case, is anyone working on a way in which verbal conversations can be dictated to the chatbox (instead of typing it) so that there is a seamless interaction with verbal conversation?

Many Thanks

Leslie
Lead Software Architect

Re: Conversations and commands - a split experience

Sun May 04, 2014 3:36 pm

Your assumption is not wrong at all.

Formal commands have been stored as choices for the In-built speech recognizer to process commands without utilizing much of your system resources. Moreover the commands recognized by the Engine has higher priorities to general conversations/chats therefore if you mix them both only the functional part of the sentence is utilized and the rest gets truncated.

For an year we've been working hard to smoothen the experience. With every iteration of SVA we push the speech recognition part to the next limit. As for now an experimental speech recognition plugin called Online Speech is available in Syn Store.

Manuel
Pro

Mon May 05, 2014 3:24 am